stressed

If you have questions about symptoms or causes of stress, or how to manage and deal with stress, please post them here. (Currently open for pre-clinic questions. These will be answered by Experts from 15 to 21 October 2014).

Moderator: talkhealth

4 posts
me11ie1

by me11ie1 on Fri Oct 10, 2014 6:12 pm

stressed

Hi I work in sales and get very frustrated and angry.. I've even ended up crying. Any advice on controlling my emotions

Sir Cary Cooper

by Sir Cary Cooper on Wed Oct 15, 2014 8:07 am

Re: stressed

The question you ought to ask yourself is 'am I in the right job'. Most people who go into sales know the ups and downs, and are used to being rejected, frustrated and the like. The issue is do you enjoy overall or are you stressed most of the time. If the latter, you might consider what else you might do given your the skills you have.
Professor Sir Cary Cooper, CBE, FAcSS
Distinguished Professor of Organisational Psychology & Health at Lancaster University Management School

http://www.talkhealthpartnership.com/online_clinics/experts/professor_sir_cary_cooper.php

Adam Eason

by Adam Eason on Wed Oct 15, 2014 1:43 pm

Hello me11ie1,

Firstly, you might like to have a glance at my reply on another thread about generic ways to learn to dissipate stress: viewtopic.php?f=688&t=6859

However, many people learn to adapt and cope well with the types of emotions you are citing. Initially, anger and frustration may well indicate that you truly care about achieving in your field, so perhaps framing these emotions to some extent in this fashion may help alleviate the severity. You might like to think of framing these feelings in any other way that are progressive or positive, even if that does do not feel wholly sincere at this stage.