Chronic Pain Policy Coalition

The Chronic Pain Policy Coalition (CPPC) brings together a wide range of professional bodies, patient organisations, parliamentarians and industry representatives, with one purpose - to work together to improve the lives of people living with pain and their families. The CPPC does this by informing decision-makers about chronic pain and the policy changes that the CPPC believes will help to aid those living with pain live a more productive, fulfilled and hopefully, less painful life.

The organisations that the CPPC works with include academic institutions, commercial organisations and employers, healthcare companies that specialise in pain management, government and quasi government bodies, parliamentarians, professional and NHS representative bodies, Royal Colleges of Medicine, Nursing and other health professions, trade unions and employee representatives as well as voluntary and patient organisations.

The CPPC is led by an Executive Committee, co-chaired by Neil Betteridge, Consultant and EULAR Liaison Officer, and Dr Martin Johnson, RCGP Clinical Lead for Chronic Pain, Vice President (Membership) British Pain Society.

The CPPC’s current parliamentary champions include Lord Luce, a cross-bench peer in the House of Lords and John Cryer, Labour MP for Leyton and Wanstead. The CPPC sits within Policy Connect, a not-for-profit social enterprise, led by Former Government Minister, Jonathan Shaw.