Contraceptive pill

Browse our forums now - if you wish to talk to others you need to be a member. Simply follow this link, create a username and password, and you could be talking to others in our forums today!

Moderators: talkhealth, macygravy

5 posts
DragonRider

by DragonRider on Wed Apr 04, 2012 2:13 pm

Contraceptive pill

Hi,

I have never done this sort of thing before (forums) i joined talkhealth because of one of the clinics then saw other things that got me interested i.e this acne forum.

I have had acne for the last 15+ years. Much of that time i have been on dianette and yasmin then back on dianette and my acne was well controlled. I had outbreaks when stressed or due on but nothing major so i just had scars to contend with - oh the joys of acne!

I came off the pill 5 months ago and my skin is going mental! What do i do? If i go on the pill for the rest of my life i cant start a family but what also concerns me is that the pill is probable just masking the problem not actually solving it.

I don't know what the hell to do? My skin gets me down but i don't want to be on the pill. Will this calm down or just continue getting worse?

Mr. Hugh Byrne, MRCOG

by Mr. Hugh Byrne, MRCOG on Wed Apr 18, 2012 4:35 pm

Re: Contraceptive pill

Hi

You are quite right - the pill is helping the acne but tno tthe underlying cause. However, it has worked for you.

Now that you are considering your fertility it would be wise to get investigated for PCOS - the treatment of which is making ovulation regular, treating the systemic symptoms as well as weight loss in the overweight group.

With a more regular cycle/ovulation, your skin may improve. However in some women pregnancy can slightly worsen spots. If other contraception is desired, I would stay away form the Mirena IUS as it's progesterone is one of the more androgenic.