Coronavirus

Moderators: talkhealth, Geckoella

3 posts
rtbm1234

by rtbm1234 on Sat Jun 27, 2020 11:25 am

Coronavirus

Hello,

I am hoping someone can help me because to be honest, I am in quite a state over this issue.

I work in my local hospital and since the mandatory use of surgical masks was implemented recently, it has caused an issue for me. Unfortunately, I suffer from inhalation issues and anxiety and it is possible the inhalation issues might be as a result of this - I think this issue began as a result of me having serious job issues 5 years ago and since then, whilst there has been an improvement, things have gone downhill in the last few days.

I have been working in the hospital for two years so I am proud of my efforts to be able to help people but I feel like a failure because I struggle to wear a face mask as it has a negative effect on me. Therefore, until the mandatory use of a face mask was introduced, I was wearing a facial visor.

I am looking for peace of mind because a friend has been a good support to me but what I want to know is, if I wore a visor, what is truly the chances of me catching the virus or me transmitting the virus to another individual, especially if they were wearing a visor or a surgical mask themselves? I have read all information on visors and from what I can see, they seem to provide a good deal of protection from the virus and other articles I have read suggest that as long as PPE is being worn by the other individual, e.g. a surgical mask, since they are mandatory, then the chances of infection, either for me or the other individual, is minimal - so I can't see how I have acted irresponsibly by wearing a visor, even during when the use of masks was mandatory.