Hi.. I have DISCOID/NUMMULAR Eczema- NEED to vent..

Browse our forums now - if you wish to talk to others you need to be a member. Simply follow this link, create a username and password, and you could be talking to others in our forums today!

Moderators: talkhealth, admin, Marcie Mom, AnnaB, StephanieJae, Koh Ming Shao

12 posts
ohcoolcircles

by ohcoolcircles on Sat Apr 16, 2016 11:17 pm

Hi.. I have DISCOID/NUMMULAR Eczema- NEED to vent..

Hello everyone!

I'm a newbie here. I'm 30 years old, and for my 30th birthday back in November, I got eczema!

A little background...

All of my life I experienced sensitive facial skin, minor to sometimes severe break outs, and blackheads etc. As an adult, it's calmed down a bit. Now I just get the monthly hormonal woman awesomeness breakouts (or at least thats what I've chalked it up to, but now I'm thinking it could be eczema)

Back in November of 2015 I got this strange circle rash on my left knee. It was actually more of just a round red spot. I didn't know what it was. Did I scrape my knee? I dont know. I ignored it, no less.
After 3-4 weeks I noticed that it not only has not disappeared, but it grew! What started out as maybe the size of a nickle, was now the size of the top of a soda can. And ITCHY at time!
I went on SPRUCE- an app I'm sure some of you are familiar with. For those of you who are not, it is an app that connects patients with dermatologists. They "examine" you by way of photos that you upload, and a series of questions relating to your chief complaint.
Anyway, the Derm on there told me what I had was "Nummular Eczema" and he prescribed Triamcinilone (sorry if I spelled that wrong!) ointment. Basically a mild topical steroid. I used this and didn't see much improvement. By this point in time I had two more of these skeeving circles on my left forearm. One was/is right at the bend of my elbow and one on my forarm about 6 inches up toward my wrist.