Sleep disturbance

Post your questions about Fibromyalgia here for our experts to answer.

Moderator: talkhealth

6 posts
mrsfizz11

by mrsfizz11 on Wed Aug 14, 2013 12:50 pm

Sleep disturbance

Since I have been diagnosed with Fibro my sleep patterns have changed significantly. I do not go into the deep sleep phase anymore, hence I wake up in the morning not refreshed and still fatigued. Is there a reason for this sleep problem? how can I make any changes. I already make sure the room is dark, cool, and I am relaxed before going to bed. Going to sleep is no problem but staying in deep sleep is!.

Adam Eason

by Adam Eason on Wed Aug 14, 2013 3:20 pm

Re: Sleep disturbance

There are probably experts on this clinic who can offer more extensive responses to the subject of sleep, however I have a lot of experience in dealing with insomnia and sleep effected by FM - and the field of hypnosis does have an impressive evidence base for helping advance sleep.

On a generic note, studies such as that conducted by Parkes (1985) gives an average number of hours of sleep as 16 out of 24 for neonates, 8 for 12-year-olds, 7 for adults and 6 in old age.

However, people vary in the amount of sleep that they require, and duration of sleep may be influenced by habit so that, for example, people may find that they manage on less sleep after an imposed period of reduction in sleeping time, according to Home (1992) over several days, healthy adults may adapt without difficulty to up to 2 hours' less sleep.