Is it all in my head?

Post your questions about Fibromyalgia here for our experts to answer.

Moderator: talkhealth

3 posts
kazadela

by kazadela on Thu Aug 15, 2013 7:25 pm

Is it all in my head?

I was diagnosed with FM seven years ago by a rheumatologist. My pain has gradually got worse and my gp has sent me to a new type of pain clinic. The first meeting didnt go well , the doctor told me I don't have FM it doesn't exist. He said its my body is craving opiates so turns up the pain signals when it needs a fix. He said throw away all my meds and go cold turkey as they are poisoning my body. Even though bits of what he said makes sense I'm in pain and its real. I've managed to cut down to just 1 tramadol aday but my life is awful I can hardly do a thing. I am a cardiac nurse on restricted duties coz of FM but if I don't get help soon I'm gonna have to quit. Any suggestions what to do ?

Wendy Green

by Wendy Green on Thu Aug 15, 2013 8:57 pm

Re: Is it all in my head?

Hi Kazadela,

To go to a pain clinic because you have fibromyalgia, only to be told by the doctor that it doesn't exist must have been upsetting to say the least! I don't know where this doctor has been for the past few years because fibromyalgia has been recognised as a legitimate condition for quite some time!

Although I disagree that you should go 'cold turkey' I think it's not a good idea not to take too many painkillers - so perhaps the doctor had a point there. However, you can't be expected to just throw away your painkillers if you are still in pain.

I would recommend trying to manage your symptoms through lifestyle changes - namely by taking regular moderate aerobic exercise such as walking, yoga and swimming and by following a healthy balanced diet; focus on eating oily fish, lean proteins, low-fat dairy foods, whole grains, nuts and seeds and fresh fruit and vegetables to improve your overall health.