Emotional overrating

Are your concerns about your weight causing you emotional problems? Does your self esteem suffer as a result of have concerns about your weight? If so, ask our experts your questions here.

Moderator: talkhealth

5 posts
tangerine

by tangerine on Wed Jan 15, 2014 2:26 pm

Emotional overrating

I am an emotional eater. I weigh 26stone and have done mywhole adult life. When I get anxious or stressed or both I eat and eat and many times I have no memory of what I've eaten. I'm a post graduate, I'm not stupid but over eating is my problem. I do not smoke or drink. It's hard to access help, dietitian and doctors focus on what I eat and the amounts but they don't understand about emotional over eating. I wonder if I should be referred to a psychiatrist? Any advice truly welcome

Gary Turner

by Gary Turner on Wed Jan 15, 2014 3:16 pm

Re: Emotional overrating

Hi Tangerine, hope you are well!

I wonder, as you think of your name, how many vitamins and minerals there are in a tangerine, and also the effects of the glucose and fructose from them? I like tangerines, they're food to go in their own wrapper, and come without pips!!

My friend and peer Adam Eason I'm sure will pop onto this thread. As a hypnotherapist too what you have presented is quite common in our clients, and any psych worker (hypnotherapist, cognitive behavioural therapist, psychologist or psychiatrist) with the right experience will be able to help.