Applying topical steroid cream for years - shld i worry

Browse our forums now - if you wish to talk to others you need to be a member. Simply follow this link, create a username and password, and you could be talking to others in our forums today!

Moderators: talkhealth, admin, Marcie Mom, AnnaB, StephanieJae, Koh Ming Shao

7 posts
rotiprata_

by rotiprata_ on Sun Feb 01, 2015 7:33 pm

Applying topical steroid cream for years - shld i worry

I have been applying hydrocortisone cream for >10 years on my face which is affected with eczema. Although I know the risks, it was the only thing that could help. Now I am beginning to worry because I have been applying daily but I haven't observed any side effects yet (even though I'm supposed to apply for a few days).

Should I be really worried?

Marcie Mom

by Marcie Mom on Mon Feb 02, 2015 8:05 am

Re: Applying topical steroid cream for years - shld i worry

Hi!

Steroid cream is generally not recommended as maintenance treatment (meaning using for long term to keep rash away, instead of short term to calm a flare-up) due to side effects and the skin on the face being thinner. Also depends on the potency of your cream (hydrocortisone not considered strong, but cream of higher % concentration may be medium) + what other active ingredients in the cream. Maybe consider trying for the lowest potency with lotion and switch to non-steroid cream like topical calcineurin inhibitor creams.

Take care,
Mei
Mei
Forum Moderator
talkhealth moderation team

Mei - Founder of http://www.EczemaBlues.com and Mom to Marcie
Visit Mei on her talkhealth blog all about eczema http://www.talkhealthpartnership.com/blog/author/mei_m/

SamanthaK

by SamanthaK on Tue Jul 07, 2015 8:38 pm

You might be careful because if you get it round your eyes I have heard it can cause glaucoma or cataracts.

ItchyGal

by ItchyGal on Fri Nov 13, 2015 3:38 am

Hi there,