protopic - long term use

Post your eczema and dry skin related questions for our experts here.

Moderator: talkhealth

3 posts
Maxine

by Maxine on Sat Sep 10, 2016 2:03 pm

protopic - long term use

I am a regular user of protopic 0.1% on my face. I have been using it for 8 years. it has really helped my facial eczema which used to be really debilitating, painful, embarrassing.
I have had the useage reviewed by dematolgists a couple of times and we have agreed I can't really stop using it. Without it my face flares up dramatically. I used to use it once a day but have managed to cut down to 3 times a week by using Eucerin daily. I can't see this useage changing. I know there are some risks associated with long term use.

What is ther latest thinking/research about long term use at this fairly low level? Is it safe?
I use factor 50 sun protector on my face every day. Is there anything esle I should be doing to reduce risk? Thanks

Dr Miriam Wittmann

by Dr Miriam Wittmann on Sun Sep 18, 2016 8:20 pm

Re: protopic - long term use

Dear Maxine,

topical calcineurineantagonists (protopic, elidel) have been discussed shortly after they were introduced to the US market (in particular for use in children) to act potentially in a way that they may favour some cancer conditions.
At that time there were 2 issues raised
- cancers not related to the skin (lymphoma, in particular in children). Information available today: not really proven. There were one or two publications which suggested an increased risk in children but most observations failed to detect an increased risk.
A recent systematic review summarises the findings from a large number of publications:
Legendre L et al: Risk of lymphoma in patients with atopic dermatitis and the role of topical treatment:
A systematic review and meta-analysis. J Am Acad Dermatol. 2015 Jun;72(6):992-1002.