Blood test results

Moderator: talkhealth

5 posts
Milkycatplanet

by Milkycatplanet on Mon Jul 20, 2020 2:33 pm

Blood test results

Hi,

New here, slightly nervous!

I'd been suffering from bowel and stomach problems for a few weeks, intermittent diahrea and constipation. My Doctor did blood tests (Complete Blood count etc).

The results came back 5 days later, and the surgery text me to ring in to book a follow up appointment with a nurse to discuss the results. They booked me in for 2 weeks times.

I'm incredibly nervous as to what they found, and I'm constantly worried and stressed whilst I wait for these 2 weeks to pass. I'm not good with all things health related, I panic.

Is it normal to wait 2 weeks for a follow up? How concerned can they be if A) the Doctor doesn't want to see me, the nurse does. B) They're not rushing me back in.

I hope someone with some medical experience can shed some light on this for me please.

Thank you so much in advance.

talkhealth

by talkhealth on Wed Jul 22, 2020 10:51 am

Re: Blood test results

Hi Milkycatplanet,

A warm welcome to you from all of us here at talkhealth, please dont be nervous :)

Thank you for posting your first post regarding your blood test results.

Unfortunately we are unable to give out specific medical advice but hopefully someone in our community may be able to help you. Each surgery will be different but it could be that at the moment with the current pandemic, that two weeks is the earliest that they can see you. However, it may be worth contacting your GP surgery and saying that you are very nervous regarding your results which aren't helping your symptoms, and would appreciate it if one of the duty team could quickly call you back to let you know if your results are something to worry about. They should be able to do that without you having to wait 2 weeks to see them.

Let us know how you get on.

Kind regards
talkhealth
talkhealth