Complex Perianal & Ischiorectal fistulating disease

Browse our forums now - if you wish to talk to others you need to be a member. Simply follow this link, create a username and password, and you could be talking to others in our forums today!

Moderator: talkhealth

2 posts
kphilchris44

by kphilchris44 on Mon Aug 08, 2016 1:10 pm

Complex Perianal & Ischiorectal fistulating disease

This is my first time posting here so apologies if there is a similar topic but I'm trying to raise awareness of a chronic condition my husband has lived with for the last 15 years. I'm keen to find out if there are other people out there with the same condition?

When this started in 2002 Ian's GP initially diagnosed hemorrhoids but, it was later found to be a perianal abscess and Ian was operated on to open it up to drain. The condition just didn't improve and he had a number of emergency operations before he eventually was sent for a MRI scan. At this point they found he had an 8cm horseshoe shaped tract that wrapped around his bowel and the colorectal surgeons had to cut through the outer anal sphincter to add a seton drain. He has a cavity of sepsis that sits in his pelvis and perineum the fistulas sit around the pelvic floor, into the anal sphincter and affect his prostate so that he can struggle to urinate when they are in the active phase which is about every 2-3 weeks.