back pain

Post your questions about pain management for our experts here.

Moderator: talkhealth

4 posts
Gerosb74

by Gerosb74 on Wed Oct 05, 2016 9:26 am

back pain

Hi last week i put my back out for the first time while doing the laundry,i am a nurse amd had really busy day the day before so not sure if this has contributed!My gp has given me diazepam kapake and naproxen which helped,tho kapake made me feel so sick.Yesterday i felt much better and even drove to pick my boys up from school. This morning i have woke in agony again and can barely move. Any suggestions as to what else i can do to help myself??

wendygreen

by wendygreen on Wed Oct 05, 2016 7:24 pm

Re: back pain

Hi,

Experts advise staying mobile, so try to move around gently as soon as you can. An over-the-counter anti-inflammatory painkiller like ibuprofen often helps with acute back pain - if you're able to take it, otherwise paracetamol can be effective.

Applying heat (a heated wheat pillow/hot water bottle) or ice (a bag of frozen veg or an ice pack wrapped in a tea towel) to the affected area can also help.

Back pain usually resolves within a few days - if it doesn't, go and see your GP again. It may be worth asking to be referred to a physiotherapist.

To prevent future back pain aim to stay a healthy weight, as excess weight is a major cause of back pain. Try to do regular exercise too - yoga and swimming are especially good for strengthening the back. Bad posture can also cause back pain so watch yours - try to keep your ears, shoulders and hips in a straight line as much as possible and bend your knees when lifting.

I hope this helps and your back pain soon eases.

Wendy
Wendy Green
Health Expert & Author - BSc (Hons) Health Studies
http://www.talkhealthpartnership.com/on ... _green.php

Nicola Footman

by Nicola Footman on Wed Oct 05, 2016 8:38 pm

Hello